Melbourne Cup PreviewFor as long as most Australians can remember, the first Tuesday in November and the start of the Melbourne Cup has become a day where not only those in Melbourne but everyone across the all of Australia comes to a standstill. It’s why they call it…

The Race That Stops A Nation™

Our Melbourne Cup preview should be able to fill you in with all you need to know about this special day.

The Flemington Racecourse sees its max capacity of 100,000 easily met while homes and pubs across the nation have the box turned on in anticipation of the main race that starts at 3pm.

Furthermore, the richest handicap race in the world with prize money of $6.2 million, the Melbourne Cup is known as being the race where the world’s best horses, jockeys and trainers want to compete.

The Melbourne Cup is more than 2 miles in length, has handicapped conditions, and can have a field as large as 24. With all the variables the race has, it can be very tough knowing just who will come out on top and this is why it is loved by so many across the world.

Useful Melbourne Cup Preview Links 🔗

Melbourne Cup Recent Winners 🏆

Although the Melbourne Cup has been running for more than 150 years, we thought it best to provide you with just the most recent winners of the event. The standout on this list is obviously the three wins in a row by the now legendary Makybe Diva.

YearWinnerWeight (kg)JockeyTrainer
2016Almandin52.0Kerrin McEvoyRobert Hickmott
2015Prince of Penzance53.0Michelle PayneDarren Weir
2014Protectionist56.5Ryan MooreAndreas Wohler
2013Fiorente55.0Damien OliverGai Waterhouse
2012Green Moon53.5Brett PebbleRobert Hickmott
2011Dunaden54.5Christophe LemaireMikel Delzangles 
2010Americain54.5Gerald MosseAlain de Royer-Dupre
2009Shocking51.0Corey BrownMark Kavanagh
2008Viewed53.0B ShinnBart (J.B.) Cummings
2007Efficient54.5Michael RoddGraeme Rogerson
2006Delta Blues56Yasunari IwataKatsuhiko Smuii (Japan)
2005Makybe Diva58Glen BossLee Freedman
2004Makybe Diva55.5Glen BossLee Freedman
2003Makybe Diva52Glen BossD. J. Hall
2002Media Puzzle52.5D. OliverD. K. Weld
2001Etheral52S. SeamerMs. S. Laxon
2000Brew55.05K. McEvoyM. Moroney

View the entire history and list of all of the Melbourne Cup Winners, from 1861 through to the most recent Cup victory – click here.