Melbourne Cup 2017 Date & Time
Here we go folks, everything you need to know about the race that is probably going to stop the nation, this year – again! It’s the 2017 Melbourne Cup, the date, the time and plenty more information to get around the biggest horse race in Australian, so… enjoy!

Melbourne Cup 2017 Date & Time

The 2017 Melbourne Cup race is on the 7th of November 2017 and is the 7th race of the day. It kicks off at precisely 3pm (EST) with 24 horses pitting themselves against each other for some healthy prize money worth $6.2 million, the 2016 Melbourne Cup was streamed live on Twitter, so it’s likely to be there again.

The handicap race covers 3,200 meters and will see the winner likely to make that distance in a sub 3 minute and 20 seconds time. The record time for this event has stood for almost 30 years and was set by Kingston Rule back in 1993 with a time of 3:16.3.

What Other Races are There on 2016 Melbourne Cup Day?

In total there will be 10 races completed on Melbourne Cup Day. The first of them will be run at 10.40am and generally there will be a good break between each one.. There will then be a new race 40 minutes after the completion of the previous with the final race starting at 5.15pm. The only exception to this rule is the 2016 Melbourne Cup itself as there will be a longer break before and after the race.

Full Race Schedule for the 2016 Melbourne Cup

# Starts Race Distance Race Type

1 10.40am Ottawa Stakes 1000m 2yoF Sw
2 11.20am Trophy 1700m Mares Hcp
3 12.00pm JB Cummings Plate 2800m 0-96 Hcp
4 12.40pm Lavazza Short Black 1400m 4&5yo 0-90
5 1.20pm Schweppes 1000m 3yo SW+P
6 2.00pm Lexus Hybrid Plate 1400m 3yoF SW+P
7 3.00pm 2016 Melbourne Cup 3200m Handicap
8 3.55pm James Boag’s Stakes 1800m Handicap
9 4.35pm Mss Security Sprint 1200m Handicap
10 5.15pm Maybe Mahal Stakes 1400m Mares SW+P
Who are This Year’s Runners?

Can Prince of Penzanze make it two wins in a row in the 2016 Melbourne Cup? We will have to wait and see but he will certainly be trying as you would expect. Below are all the runners for the 2016 Melbourne Cup:

Big Orange Our Ivanhowe Tarzino

Wicklow Brave Tavago The United States

Bondi Beach Almoonqith Who Shot TheBarman

Hartnell Beautiful Romance Aloft

Jameka Erupt Barsanti

Signoff Gallante Heartbreak City

Curren Mirotic HouseofParliament Preferment

Exosphere Scottish Prinze of Penzanze

Idaho Secret number Red Cardinal

Whichever horse you are backing this year, you just know that you are going to have a great time whether you win or lose. Furthermore, this must be the only event in the world where losing a bet really does not mean too much. Win or lose we always have a great as the event makes it all worth it!